Page 1 of 1

.NET version in Visual Studio 2005

Posted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 12:36 am
by B.E
I need to change the .NET version in Visual Studio to .NET 1.1, How do I do it?

Posted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 1:43 am
by XCHG
What do you mean change? You mean as in upgrading or chaning the Version Information block in the PE file? Be more specific please.

Posted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 1:48 am
by B.E
no I mean compile to .NET 1.1

Posted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:44 am
by AJ
Try http://www.icsharpcode.net/OpenSource/SD/Default.aspx if you don't mind using a non-microsoft IDE. The various #develop versions will let you use v1.0, 1.1 or 2 of the .NET framework.

Note that the MS .NET compilers are all free to download from microsoft and part of the SDKs, so you can always download them and compile from the command line if nothing else...

Cheers,
Adam

Posted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 5:48 am
by B.E
So can't VS do it.

Posted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 6:06 am
by AJ
Some quick googling revealed: http://janmoons.blogspot.com/2006/01/vi ... e-net.html

It seems that there was a website offering an IDE update to allow it, but the download has been taken down. Most people seem to think that VS2003 is tied to .NET 1.1 and VS2005 is tied to .NET 2.0.

Adam

Posted: Thu Apr 12, 2007 11:55 am
by MuhammadAdel
The binding to a specific .NET framework is done when running the application and by default it uses the latest runtime installed on the machine.
you can force a specific .NET framework version if you didn't use any features that were not found in .NET 2.0 (such as generics) and added a <supportedRuntime> or a <requiredRuntime> elements in the application's configuration file.