.NET version in Visual Studio 2005

Programming, for all ages and all languages.
Post Reply
User avatar
B.E
Member
Member
Posts: 275
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2006 5:29 pm
Location: Brisbane Australia
Contact:

.NET version in Visual Studio 2005

Post by B.E »

I need to change the .NET version in Visual Studio to .NET 1.1, How do I do it?
Image
Microsoft: "let everyone run after us. We'll just INNOV~1"
User avatar
XCHG
Member
Member
Posts: 416
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 3:55 am
Location: Wisconsin
Contact:

Post by XCHG »

What do you mean change? You mean as in upgrading or chaning the Version Information block in the PE file? Be more specific please.
On the field with sword and shield amidst the din of dying of men's wails. War is waged and the battle will rage until only the righteous prevails.
User avatar
B.E
Member
Member
Posts: 275
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2006 5:29 pm
Location: Brisbane Australia
Contact:

Post by B.E »

no I mean compile to .NET 1.1
Image
Microsoft: "let everyone run after us. We'll just INNOV~1"
User avatar
AJ
Member
Member
Posts: 2646
Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2006 7:01 am
Location: Devon, UK
Contact:

Post by AJ »

Try http://www.icsharpcode.net/OpenSource/SD/Default.aspx if you don't mind using a non-microsoft IDE. The various #develop versions will let you use v1.0, 1.1 or 2 of the .NET framework.

Note that the MS .NET compilers are all free to download from microsoft and part of the SDKs, so you can always download them and compile from the command line if nothing else...

Cheers,
Adam
User avatar
B.E
Member
Member
Posts: 275
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2006 5:29 pm
Location: Brisbane Australia
Contact:

Post by B.E »

So can't VS do it.
Image
Microsoft: "let everyone run after us. We'll just INNOV~1"
User avatar
AJ
Member
Member
Posts: 2646
Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2006 7:01 am
Location: Devon, UK
Contact:

Post by AJ »

Some quick googling revealed: http://janmoons.blogspot.com/2006/01/vi ... e-net.html

It seems that there was a website offering an IDE update to allow it, but the download has been taken down. Most people seem to think that VS2003 is tied to .NET 1.1 and VS2005 is tied to .NET 2.0.

Adam
User avatar
MuhammadAdel
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 11:49 am
Location: Cairo - Egypt

Post by MuhammadAdel »

The binding to a specific .NET framework is done when running the application and by default it uses the latest runtime installed on the machine.
you can force a specific .NET framework version if you didn't use any features that were not found in .NET 2.0 (such as generics) and added a <supportedRuntime> or a <requiredRuntime> elements in the application's configuration file.
Post Reply