The generator only generates random symbols that actually do stuff. It doesn't stop you from entering non-valid symbols in, but they will be skipped.onlyonemac wrote:One more question/suggestion: does it generate random text or does it only use valid symbols which actually do something?
Tacky Turtle 3D- randomly generated turing drawing machine
- AndrewAPrice
- Member
- Posts: 2298
- Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2006 11:00 pm
- Location: USA (and Australia)
Re: Tacky Turtle - randomly generated turing drawing machine
I've decided to go with a 256x256x256 voxel volume. But it may take up a bit of GPU memory though.
My OS is Perception.
- AndrewAPrice
- Member
- Posts: 2298
- Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2006 11:00 pm
- Location: USA (and Australia)
Re: Tacky Turtle - randomly generated turing drawing machine
Here is a prototype of Tacky Turtle 3D. Still a work in progress with no download links yet. I'm rendering to voxels and it works well. I had to limit the rotation angles due to my rendering technique, but I hope to fix that soon.
Edit: I just noticed a rounding issue. A simple program like ^u should generate a perfect circle but at 10000x speed I notice it rapidly drift off.
Edit: I just noticed a rounding issue. A simple program like ^u should generate a perfect circle but at 10000x speed I notice it rapidly drift off.
My OS is Perception.
- AndrewAPrice
- Member
- Posts: 2298
- Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2006 11:00 pm
- Location: USA (and Australia)
Re: Tacky Turtle - randomly generated turing drawing machine
I've fixed the floating point drift. Due to the way I render voxels on the GPU, implementing free-form rotation would add a lot of complexity so for now rotation is limited. Maybe you can motivate me to work on it!
Here are the web version and downloads: http://www.andrewalexanderprice.com/sof ... yturtle3d/
Here's an interesting pattern and another one and another one. Share any interesting ones you find!
Here are the web version and downloads: http://www.andrewalexanderprice.com/sof ... yturtle3d/
Here's an interesting pattern and another one and another one. Share any interesting ones you find!
My OS is Perception.
- AndrewAPrice
- Member
- Posts: 2298
- Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2006 11:00 pm
- Location: USA (and Australia)
Re: Tacky Turtle 3D- randomly generated turing drawing machi
Sure max, upload or paste your log file somewhere and I'll take a look. Also, did you click play?
My OS is Perception.
- max
- Member
- Posts: 616
- Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 11:23 am
- Libera.chat IRC: maxdev
- Location: Germany
- Contact:
Re: Tacky Turtle 3D- randomly generated turing drawing machi
Sorry for not answering I while ^^ lost it out of sight.. I actually meant, how can I get the log file from unity?MessiahAndrw wrote:Sure max, upload or paste your log file somewhere and I'll take a look. Also, did you click play?
EDIT: also - different computer, different result
- AndrewAPrice
- Member
- Posts: 2298
- Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2006 11:00 pm
- Location: USA (and Australia)
Re: Tacky Turtle 3D- randomly generated turing drawing machi
From this: http://docs.unity3d.com/Manual/LogFiles.html The webplayer log should be in one of these directories:max wrote:Sorry for not answering I while ^^ lost it out of sight.. I actually meant, how can I get the log file from unity?
C:\Documents and Settings\username\Local Settings\Temp\UnityWebPlayer\log\
C:\Users\username\AppData\Local\Temp\UnityWebPlayer\log\
C:\Users\username\AppData\Local\Temp\Low\UnityWebPlayer\log\
Hopefully it has some description of what is wrong. Maybe the texture format I'm using is rarely supported?
My OS is Perception.
- max
- Member
- Posts: 616
- Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 11:23 am
- Libera.chat IRC: maxdev
- Location: Germany
- Contact:
Re: Tacky Turtle 3D- randomly generated turing drawing machi
So here are the log files: http://pastebin.com/m9SCX0etMessiahAndrw wrote:Hopefully it has some description of what is wrong. Maybe the texture format I'm using is rarely supported?
I did
- open the page
- click randomize
- click start
- after a few seconds hit stop
Nothing appeared on screen. Messages don't seem to contain the problem Maybe you could create a "debug version" or switch so you can write more info to the log, I'll try it out and give you the logs. Also, [url=mailto://[email protected]]writing me an eMail[/url] might make it easier